Oddball American

I would never expect myself to feel out of place as an American in America. Or as a Connecticut-ian (Connecticut-ite?) in Connecticut. But, last night- I did. And not in a bad way.

I went to a party that my neighbor was throwing on the 6th floor of my apartment building. It’s new for me to be going anywhere “single” so I was pretty anxious- not to mention that while reading the invitation, every other e-mail address ended in @yale.edu Not that I don’t think I’m smart or personable- but Yalies? Oh boy, I may be out of my league here.

Let me just say, I am so pleased that I went. Never before have I been with such a diverse, but lovely, group of people. Just as taste of the countries that were represented last night: England, Ireland, France, Africa, Poland, Italy, Hungary, Turkey and Scotland. There were fifteen of us. I was one of four Americans and the only native of Connecticut.

It was a blast sharing stories of cultural differences and oddities over the ever bonding wine and whiskey. I found that I have a pretty spot on British accent. I learned that if you’re going to visit Ireland, the LAST place you want to visit is Dublin. I discovered that in Europe, aside from meal portions being about half the size as those in America, “doggy bagging it” is not commonplace.

But what really made me smile was the realization of how innately similar we all are. How we’re all driven by the same happiness and love and smiles and laughter.

Look at me! Branching out! Making new friends! Learning new things. I rock.

Leave a Reply

